Victim of the Zeitgeist

http://www.thepiazza.org.uk/bb/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=14847

Blacky beats me to everything!

Edit: I decided to add some content here with a compare/contrast.

His rules are good. They’re MUCH more lucrative than mine, and they assume that the peasantry work directly for the regent, as opposed to “for themselves but the regent skims the top”. The virtual gp generated as labor is a much more pleasant mechanism than my “peasants generate literal food gp and literal food gp can be exchanged for wealth gp at such-and-such a rate”. From an accounting standpoint, that’s cool tech.

It also has the neat “throw some parties or the peasantry revolt”, which I think is pleasing. It uses “confidence” where I use “loyalty”. It also has a lot less randomness in its system: things grow by projectable curves, with the exception of the “event” roll, which is where the random sneaks in. I mostly like that, but I a little bit don’t. The randomness in the other parts of the economy provide antialiasing: if your kingdom is running a thin profit, you should be maintaining stores which are more-or-less neutral, because you keep dipping into them on the bad years, and don’t refill them as much as you should in the good years (because you’re burning the money to appease the populace).

It has assumed fealty to church and king, and things you can- and cannot- use those tax dollars for. Finnicky, but I do like the explicit pay up/pay down.

In real numbers, his system is quarterly where mine is monthly: either is fine. Each peasant family produces 20gp (poll tax) + (20, 40 or 60 gp) (mineral rights) + 200virtualgp (service). Each family consumes 50gp + a bunch of others, and you have to build your castle/summon your hordes.

Since I do it per head, each family is, say, 5 heads; since I do it monthly, each quarter is 3 months; diving his ~260gp per family/season into my ~17gp per head/month makes me feel… actually pretty good about my numbers. I have 5 (village), virtual 10 (farmer), 25 and 50 — we’re in the running for a reasonable amount!

(of course, I assumed you only got to keep 10% of that wealth. I suppose that’s the real difference between our systems: he gives you a lot and then taketh it away; I just assume most of the stuff you’re losing is a big obscure ball of not-your-cash).

Ditch the thing about turning excess peasantry produce into cash and throw in a few more resources, and we’re cross compatible!

About lackhand

I was born in 1984 and am still playing games, programming computers, and living in New York City. View all posts by lackhand

Leave a Reply

